2021 Belated Prizegiving Celebration

2021 Belated Prizegiving Celebration

With rangatahi being scattered around the motu and the country in lockdown at our usual Prizegiving time, we decided to postpone our 2021 Prizegiving in the hopes of safely gathering rangatahi and whānau together in the new year for a celebration of success and perseverance. Red light setting meant we had to restrict attendance to rangatahi and kaimahi only but we were pleased to have whānau and friends of InZone attend virtually as we held our first-ever live-streamed event. Held onsite, we were treated to yet another delicious kai from the kitchen crew before the Awards Ceremony kicked off in the hall.

We are so proud of all our rangatahi for their achievements in 2021 however we were selective about which taonga we awarded. We excluded awards that we felt we couldn’t fairly award due to the length of lockdown in 2021 and rangatahi being away from the kāinga.  Congratulations to all the recipients!

Awarded for Academic Excellence
Angitu Award wāhine – Angelique Apineru

Angelique consistently demonstrated commitment, dedication and passion in all her work. Determined and disciplined, this wāhine achieved NCEA 1, 2 and 3 with Excellence endorsement, an impressive feat in Level 3 Calculus, chemistry, biology, physics and mathematics statistics. She is the recipient of the prestigious University of Auckland Pacific Academic Excellence Scholarship valued at 20k and accepted into UoA through the MAPAS entry scheme. Well done Angelique!

Angitu Award tāne – Torah Apineru
Torah consistently demonstrated commitment and dedication in his academic work. He is driven to perform at the best of his abilities and doesn’t shy from helping others in their work. He completed his Cambridge examinations with As and Bs.
Well done Torah!

Angitu Award Cambridge Studies – Taimarino Cleave
This award is for a Rangatahi who has demonstrated resilience and dedication to their Cambridge studies. Taimarino pushed himself, getting stuck in and did his best to prepare for examinations through a very difficult time. Often up till late and early in the morning prepping and ensuring that he was prepared to the best of his abilities, this young man tried his hardest. As a result, he is now days away from attending the

The Hugo Charitable Trust Scholarship – Marta Skokandic
This scholarship is for a junior student who demonstrates a conscientious attitude towards their studies and an eagerness to seize the opportunities available to them. Marta is a bubbly, well-mannered kōhine who fits the criteria well. She is an engaged learner and actively seeks support where she needs it. Congratulations Marta!

Whineray Family Honour Award: Taimarino Cleave
Awarded to a tauira who has demonstrated leadership ability and strength of character at both school and kāinga, a role model for many, and meaningful contribution to kāinga life.
Taimarino demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the kāinga, peers and Teina, even returning to the kāinga to study for exams and staying on after he finished to help the other boys.

Wāhine Toa Award: Siena Edwards
This award is for the wāhine who has demonstrated a high level of sporting success in her chosen area. Siena has definitely has done that. She was the captain of her senior school touch team, on both the Auckland and New Zealand U18 Mixed Touch squads as well as the Te Tai Tokerau U18 girls touch team. She also played for a number of Auckland rugby teams and was selected for NZ Youth U18 Girls AFL team.

Jordan Kemp Memorial Trophy: Nikau Rangihuna
Awarded to tauira who have demonstrated sporting excellence in memory of Sam and Max Kemp’s brother. Nikau was on the NZ Under 18s mixed touch team and will be playing in April’s Trans-Tasman tournament. He was a national touch champion with the Te Tai Tokerau U18 Boys. He represented Counties Manukau in U18 rugby and was on both the Auckland Grammar Premier Touch Team and 2nd Fifteen.

Te Hāpori Community Award: 
Awarded to tauira who have demonstrated a sense of caring and a natural ability to bring people together within the kāinga
Breize Rawiri – Breize naturally steps into a tuakana role and holds the respect of her peers. She always shows manaaki in everything she does and every interaction she has with her InZone sisters.
Taimarino Cleave – Taimarino has strong relationships across all year groups, a testament to his character. A role model to all, he could often be found helping others around the kāinga and could always be counted on to show up.

Ahurea Cultural Award: 
Awarded to tauira who have demonstrated commitment, leadership and dedication to furthering te ahurea māori
Waikamania Seve – Waikamania held the position of School Board Student Rep 2021, Kapahaka kaiarahi 2021, waka ama senior girls team 1 seat 1, humanitarian group, polyfest, arts and cultural committee
Storm Peita – Storm placed 3rd in Manu Korero Competition, Kaea at Polyfest, continues to be involved in kapa haka at school and InZone, leads waiata and karakia and korero Māori around the kāinga.

Me Rangatira Te Tū Award: Breize Rawiri & Wiremu Cleave
Our supreme award recognises and celebrates our rangatahi who have best carried themselves like rangatira in 2021 and will serve as leaders of the kāinga in 2022
Breize is a natural leader that draws others to her. We have seen her confidence flourish in the kāinga over her journey at InZone. In her actions, she is always considering others and their needs. The girls bestow mana on her through their willingness to follow her leadership. She displays initiative and a willingness to support the kaiāwhina and kōhine in any way she can.

Tewhatewha – Aymon Iese
The tewhatewha is awarded by the departing Form 7 cohort their chosen boy to be a leader in the boys’ kāinga.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *