Prize Giving 2016
by InZone on December 1st, 2016

Friends, family, and InZone supporters attended our end-of-year prize giving on Saturday 26th November at the Raye Freedman Arts Centre in Epsom. It was a time to reflect on the year gone by, celebrate the successes of our young men and women, and sadly farewell our 14 leavers.
Thank you to Andrew Patterson for his opening speech and being an excellent MC. Also to Deborah George, our Executive Chairperson, who reflected on what has been achieved in 2016, and spoke about what we hope to achieve in the future. We also acknowledge founding board members, Matt Whineray, James Mace and Simon Rupapera, all of whom we hope will stay close as future supporters and advisors to InZone.
Auckland Grammar School Headmaster, Tim O’Connor, and Epsom Girls Grammar Deputy Principal, Sarah Stenson, addressed the boys and girls, and presented the awards.
In his speech on behalf of the 13 7th Form leavers, and one Year 13 girl, Payton Taplin reflected on the close bond they had all formed in the five years they have been at InZone. Former InZone Chairman, Matt Whineray, presented all of them with certificates, a taonga and a blanket, a symbol of the wrap-around care and love that InZone will continue to give them after they leave.
Lastly, in a moving speech and ceremony, Ngarimu Rupapera introduced a new student leadership award, a Tewhatewha, which was carved and donated by his whanau. This award recipient is chosen by the 7th Form boys and is given to the 6th Form boy who they believe will exhibit the greatest leadership qualities in the boys kainga during the coming year. Ngarimu then announced Nikau Reti-Beazley as the winner of the award, and the 7th Form boys, as a group, ceremoniously handed the whiwhi over to him.

See below for a full list of prize winners:

Girls Awards
Trophy:  Academic Excellence Award - Jasmine Paki
Trophy:  Most Improved Student - Jasmin Wiki
Shield:  Hostel Leadership Award - Tayla Smith-Tohu
Boys Awards
Carving:  Aggregrate Excellence Award - Tuamu Maka
Trophy:  Academic Excellence Award - Tamatea Schweikert
Trophy:  Most Improved Student - Toby Laxton-Koraua
Shield:  Hostel Leadership Award - Denzel Wiki
Certificate Winners:  (300 and 400 Club)
Taiwa Edwards (300 Club Term 1, 400 Club Term 2)
Paenoa Huriwai (300 Club Term 2)
Amua Te Maioha (300 Club Term 1, 400 Club Term 2)
Tamatea Schweikert (400 Club Term 1, 400 Club Term 2)
Tiraha Baker (400 Club Term 1, 400 Club Term 2)
Samiuela Folaumoetu'i (300 Club Term 2)
Jacom Le'au'anae (300 Club Term 1, 300 Club Term 2)
Tuamu Maka (400 Club Term 1, 400 Club Term 2)
Jake Murray (300 Club Term 2)
Joint Awards
Shield: Sport Excellence Award - Ruby Murray
Whinary Family Honour Award - Payton Taplin
Jordan Kemp Memorial - Killarney Morey

Presentations to leavers

Codey Allen
Shiloh Allen
Nathan Cook
Peter Dyer
Vaughn Evans
Neeson Harriman
Logan Hohaia
Tyler Morton
Caleb Nuihulu
Hape Paewhenua
Ngarimu Rupapera
Payton Taplin
Denzel Wiki
Tayla Smith-Tohu

Posted in not categorized    Tagged with no tags

no categories